Before removing a local view, make sure that all files are checked in from the local vault view. If users do not check in these files, any work in the local copy will be lost. These files will be shown as checked out in the new local view but the data from the local copy will not exist so it will not be possible to recover those changes.
Fortunately, there is a check performed when deleting the local vault view. It will give a warning that there are checked out files and a prompt to check them into the vault.
To remove the local vault view normally go to the vault view in your windows explorer folder, Right Click the vault view, and select “Delete File Vault View”.
A warning message will appear asking if you want to leave the local contents as normal files or delete anything every file viewed from the local machine.
This should remove the vault view but in case it does not, we can delete it manually as shown in the section below. Once again, if removing the vault manually, make sure all files are checked in before proceeding.
To start the process, open the windows registry as an administrator (click the Start button, type “regedit”, right-click “regedit.exe” and select “Run as Administrator”). Here we will delete certain keys. If you are not comfortable doing this, get help from your IT group.
I hope you found this SOLIDWORKS PDM tutorial helpful. For more articles just like this be sure to subscribe.
About Erick Vega
Erick has a B.S. in Mechanical Engineering and 6 has years of Microcontroller Automation experience. You can find him venturing out climbing into the Wasatch mountains, tinkering around with salvaged electronics or trying to program a Windows application that probably didn’t need to exist.
Get the latest articles delivered daily to your inbox, unsubscribe at any time.