SOLIDWORKS PDM Professional and SOLIDWORKS PDM Standard client can be installed at the same time as SOLIDWORKS. Installation uses the SOLIDWORKS Installation Manager located on the SOLIDWORKS DVD or downloaded from SOLIDWORKS.
In this SOLIDWORKS PDM tutorial, we look at the difference between Rollback and checking in a previous version of a file. Both processes allow you to use an older version of a file as the latest version, but they have unique limitations and uses. Let’s look at both features, their differences, and how they should be used.
SOLIDWORKS PDM 2021 introduced an updated interface and new column configurations the end-user will see. In previous versions, administrators were only able to add additional columns to the default SOLIDWORKS PDM columns. Now all the columns can be configured and modified.
There can be instances where users might see gray folders or local files in their Vault View. These gray folders indicate that a local folder existed in your local Vault View but not in the SOLIDWORKS PDM vault itself. SOLIDWORKS PDM grabs and caches copies of folders and files locally as users browse and work with files in the vault.
Since SOLIDWORKS PDM 2018, other administrators can now perform undo checkout on a file owned by another user. Prior to PDM 2018, only the default admin user could undo a check out of files that were checked out by another user.
By default, when performing a transition on a file with references in SOLIDWORKS PDM, the children will be selected to go through the transition at the same time. The user can deselect any files to be excluded from the transition by manually clicking the child references or by using CRTL-A. Some prefer all files be selected by default, others prefer to select the files manually to only transition files that they want to. The default setting can be changed so that child references are deselected.