In SOLIDWORKS PDM, we can enable duplicate file name checking for a vault so that users cannot create multiple files of the same file type with the same name. The duplicate file name check triggers when using the following commands:
This article outlines the steps necessary to upgrade Web2 from 2016 SP0 or older to 2016 SP1 or newer. When upgrading Web2 from 2016 SP1 or newer, the existing application and application pool will be upgraded automatically by the SOLIDWORKS PDM Installation Manager and the following steps do not need to be performed.
When used with SOLIDWORKS files, SOLIDWORKS PDM data cards show multiple tabs, each with data fields that can display metadata. These tabs have labels such as @, Default, Sheet1, etc. as well as tabs named after model configurations and drawing sheets. This can be very confusing to users who don’t understand what these tabs represent and how to effectively work with them.
So, it is time to upgrade your SOLIDWORKS PDM and SOLIDWORKS. Along with SOLIDWORKS, you will need to upgrade the Toolbox. In your case, your company has multiple clients to upgrade. Prior to SOLIDWORKS PDM, you had the Toolbox in a shared location on your network. In this situation, the first client to be upgraded would also upgrade the Toolbox in the shared location. As other clients are upgraded, they will begin to upgrade Toolbox, realize it has already been upgraded so will skip the Toolbox upgrade as it is unnecessary
Undo Check out can be performed on any checked-out file located inside the SOLIDWORKS PDM vault to release ownership to allow another user access to work on the file. A user may have left the company, taken an extended vacation, or a computer may have crashed and the hard drive is no longer available and files are checked out to their PDM profile.