Compound angle holes in SOLIDWORKS can be done, but typically take a lot of extra reference data like planes, axis, points, 3D sketches, etc. Using the technique explained in this tutorial removes all that and allows you to place the hole and then change the angle of the hole as needed. Let’s begin.
There are many hidden gems in SOLIDWORKS that will enhance your drawings. Let’s take a look at how easy it is to display letter and number drill sizes instead of hole diameters in your Hole Table in SOLIDWORKS 2012 and later. First, insert your hole table by going to Insert > Tables > Hole Table.
Emailing is an effective way of communicating your design intent to other people. This article explains an easy way to save SOLIDWORKS attachments from email - specifically Microsoft Outlook. Although most people tend to use the (Left Mouse Button or LMB) “click, hold and drag” method of their attachment from the inbox to a specific file location, what if you wanted to have additional options before moving that email attachment?
The SOLIDWORKS Hole Wizard offers various hole options, including threaded holes, clearance holes, pipe threads, dowel holes, and slots. With this tool, you can automatically bring in hole callouts into drawings, have the toolbox match the appropriate fastener size to the hole, and even have SOLIDWORKS automatically populate holes with the correct fastener.
What do you do in SOLIDWORKS when you need to make a drawing of a part with an obscure angled plane? Take this part for an example: As you can see, the view that is needed for the angled section would be difficult to get to be directly perpendicular to the hole going through it so we could give an accurate dimensional callout. Even a projected view will be difficult using the existing geometry. Luckily, SOLIDWORKS can create this view quite easily. Let’s start with the part file.
File > Save As > (*.pdf) converts your SOLIDWORKS drawing to plain lines then, using proprietary code, saves it to a PDF. This is a SOLIDWORKS function and is not relying on any third party to publish your PDF. File > Print > (PDF writer) uses the SOLIDWORKS print engine to spool and communicates the information to your selected PDF printing software to produce the PDF.
When trying to standardize designs, it is a good idea for you and your team to use the same weldment profiles in SOLIDWORKS. This tutorial covers the steps to set up shared weldment profiles. Let’s assume the weldment profiles everyone will be using moving forward are the ones you are currently using with SOLIDWORKS.